claim

Electronic systems

The capability to design and develop electronic systems and related software for various defence and commercial systems is a company success story. Rheinmetall Canada’s electronic systems are used in domains such as C-IED, soldier systems, battle management, training and simulation, and homeland security to name a few. Canada, the United States, the Netherlands, and severall other allies benefit from the company’s innovative and unique solutions for mission-critical defence or homeland security needs.

Rheinmetall Canada competencies in electronic systems include:

  • System analysis, design, integration, test, and qualification.
  • Subsystems integration and qualification.
  • BMC4I software design and integration:
    • Sensor/video integration and processing.
  • Electronics design:
    • Single board computers.
    • Customized interfacing.
  • Command and control software design and integration.

C-IED solutions

Rheinmetall Canada is an important supplier of Counter Improvised Explosive Devices (C-IED) solutions to the Canadian Forces. Partnered with international experts in the areas of surveillance and demining, we are supplying the Canadian Army with C-IED solutions to protect our soldiers in their overseas missions.

Persistent Surveillance System – Protection of critical assets

The protection of critical assets from hostile actions requires the use of persistent surveillance to provide sufficient time for resources to react.

Rheinmetall's Persistent Surveillance System (PSS) provides a wide-area, long range observation capability for the detection, identification, and monitoring of potential threats against military installations and other critical infrastructure, such as forward operating bases, forward operating positions, petroleum facilities and power generation stations.

The PSS comprises the Persistent Surveillance Aerostat (PSA) and the Persistent Surveillance Tower (PST). The PSA is an aerostat with a stabilized electro-optical sensor operating at 300 m above ground and the PST has a stabilized electro-optical sensor and an optional radar installed on a 32 m trailer-mounted tower. Using the SC2PS application, all sensors can be operated from one control shelter where sensor data is displayed and exploited.

The PSS has a proven record, being in service for the Canadian Forces' Forward Operating Bases in Afghanistan, the Winter Olympic Games 2010 in Vancouver, and the G8 and G20 summits 2010 in Canada.

Turnkey security and surveillance solutions

Mine clearing

The Remotely Operated Mechanical Explosive Clearance System (ROMECS) is a tracked, medium flail mine clearance system that is suitable for antipersonnel and antitank mines. The ROMECS is primarily intended to provide an enhanced explosive clearance capability across the spectrum of deployed operations.

Simulation and training solutions

The Rheinmetall Defence group's expertise in the field of military simulation technology encompasses virtually every training task relating to weapons and command and control systems.

MESO trainer

For the Canadian Navy, Rheinmetall Canada is supplying the Marine Engineering System Operator (MESO) trainer for the KINGSTON Class of maritime coastal defence vessels. The MESO trainer will significantly enhance the Navy’s ability to train engineering personnel, which is a critical factor in vessel operational availability.

ADOS - Air Defence Operations Simulator

The Air Defence Operations Simulator (ADOS) is a simulation and training system developed by Rheinmetall Canada using COTS simulation tools. The ADOS provide the Royal Netherlands Army’s Advanced Ground Based Air Defence System (AGBADS) operators with a classroom-type training system and an air defence operations research tool.

  • Sales and Programs management

    Stéphane Oehrli
    Vice-President
    Phone: 450-542-5999

claim

Systèmes électroniques

Chez Rheinmetall Canada, le développement de systèmes électroniques et des logiciels connexes pour divers systèmes commerciaux et de défense est un modèle à suivre. Les systèmes électroniques conçus par Rheinmetall Canada sont entre autres utilisés pour la protection contre les dispositifs explosifs de circonstance, les systèmes du soldat, la gestion du combat, l’entraînement et la simulation, ainsi que pour la sécurité intérieure. Le Canada, les États-Unis, les Pays-Bas, ainsi que de nombreux autre pays alliés bénéficient des solutions uniques et novatrices de notre entreprise pour assurer leur défense et leur sécurité intérieure.

Les compétences de Rheinmetall Canada en matière de systèmes électroniques se situent aux niveaux suivants :

  • Analyse, conception, integration, essais et qualification de systèmes.
  • Intégration et qualification de sous-systèmes.
  • Conception et intégration de logiciels BMC4I :
    • Intégration et traitement de capteurs/vidéo.
  • Conception électronique :
    • Ordinateurs monocartes.
    • Interfaçage personnalisé.
  • Conception et intégration de logiciels pour le commandement et le contrôle.

Solutions pour la protection contre les dispositifs explosifs de circonstance

Rheinmetall Canada est un important fournisseur de solutions pour la protection contre les dispositifs explosifs de circonstance. En partenariat avec des experts internationaux dans les domaines de la surveillance et du déminage, Rheinmetall Canada fournit à l'Armée canadienne des solutions pour la protection contre ces dispositifs explosifs afin de protéger nos soldats au cours de leurs missions à l'étranger.

Système de surveillance permanente – Protection de ressources critiques

Le système de surveillance permanente (SSP) à déploiement tactique permet l'observation, la détection, l'identification et la surveillance de zones étendues adjacentes aux installations militaires et autres infrastructures critiques, tels que les bases d’opérations avancées, les emplacements d’opérations avancés, les installations d’exploitation pétrolière et les centrales énergétiques.

Le SSP est composé du système de surveillance permanente par aérostat (PSA) et de la tour de surveillance permanente (TSP).

Le système de SPA est un aérostat doté d'un capteur électro-optique opérant à 300 m au-dessus du sol, alors que la TSP est une tour de 32 m montée sur remorque à l'extrémité de laquelle sont installés un capteur électro-optique et un radar (en option). Grâce à l’application SC2PS, les données fournies par tous les capteurs sont affichées et exploitées à partir d’un seul centre de contrôle mobile.

Le SSP a fait ses preuves sur les bases d'opérations avancées des Forces canadiennes en Afghanistan, lors des Jeux Olympiques d'hiver de Vancouver en 2010, et lors des sommets du G8 et du G20 tenus au Canada en 2010.

Solutions clés en main pour la sécurité et la surveillance

Déminage

Le système de déminage mécanique téléopéré ROMECS est un véhicule à chenilles doté de fléaux moyens permettant de détruire tant les mines antipersonnel que les mines antichar qui permet un déminage plus efficace dans les zones jouxtant les opérations de déploiement.

Simulation et entrainement

L’expertise du groupe Rheinmetall Defence dans le domaine des technologies de simulation couvre virtuellement toutes les tâches d’entrainement reliées aux armes et aux systèmes de commandement et de contrôle.

Simulateur MESO

Rheinmetall Canada fournit à la Marine canadienne le nouveau simulateur d’entrainement pour opérateurs des systèmes de mécanique maritime (MESO) sur les navires de défense côtière de la classe KINGSTON. Le simulateur d’entrainement MESO aidera grandement la marine à former son personnel technique, qui est le facteur-clé de la disponibilité opérationnelle d’un navire.

Simulateur ADOS

Le simulateur d’opérations de défense aérienne (ADOS) est un système de simulation et d’entraînement basé sur des outils de simulation commerciaux standards qui est conçu par Rheinmetall Canada pour l’Armée royale des Pays-Bas. Le simulateur ADOS permet aux opérateurs du système avancé de défense aérienne basé au sol AGBADS de s’entraîner en classe et d’effectuer des recherches tactiques de défense aérienne.

  • Ventes et gestion des programmes

    Stéphane Oehrli
    Vice-président
    Tél.: 450-542-5999